Plaque unveiling, October 2021

The Rushen Heritage Trust promoted a series of events in October 2021 to commemorate what was described as the 150th anniversary of the iconic Milner Tower on Bradda Head. It is know that by 1st April 1871 a total of £72.8.6 had been subscribed towards ‘erecting a tower on Bradda Head, as a recognition of the services rendered to Port Erin and the neighbourhood by Wm. Milner, Esq.’ It is not known when the work started, who designed the tower or who built it. What is known is that on 28th August 1872 the key to the completed structure was presented to Wm. Milner by the Captain of the Parish of Rushen, Mr. J T Clucas on behalf of the committee of the ‘Milner Memorial Tower.’

The events that took place in October 2021 were the production of a special brew called ‘Milner Tower Ale’ by Bushy’s Brewery and launched at the Bay Hotel on 2nd October. On 9th there was a memorial service in St Catherine’s Church which was originally built with money provided by Milner. A plaque was unveiled by the present Captain of the Parish of Rushen, Stanley Clucas , on 16th October. This was located on the post war rebuilt boundary wall to ‘The Rest,’ Milner’s house opposite the gable of The Falcon’s Nest Hotel which Milner also had built. On 21st October an exhibition entitled ‘Milner: The Man and The Tower’ was opened in St Catherine’s Church Hall. It ran until 31st October. Coinciding with the exhibition was the publication of a 70 page book of the same name.

The photograph shows Captain of the Parish, Stanley Clucas, on the left, with Professor Hugh Davidson, founding chairman of Rushen Heritage Trust, on the right.