taking our culture forward

A complete performance of all the music from 'Mona Melodies' (1820), the first ever publication of Manx music.

This recording was made in mark the bicentenary of the publication of 'Mona Melodies, with a complete performance of its songs and music by Mandy Griffin (mezzo-soprano) and Frank Woolley (pianoforte).
The music and words will appear strange to those who know Manx music, raising many questions about the origins and background of this 200-year-old collection. These are addressed in the short introduction given by Bob Carswell RBV about the history and contents of this fascinating and important work of Manx music.

This was recorded live on Friday 20 November 2020, at Government House, Onchan.
The recording was made with thanks to His Excellency The Lieutenant Governor and Lady Gozney.

  • Introduction by Robert Corteen Carswell RBV

  • Brown William

  • Molly Charrane

  • False Isabel

  • The Storm is Up

  • The Praise of Wine

  • Berry Dowin

  • My Hen Whoomey Vien

  • O Sheign Doin

  • Ne Kirree Fo'n Sniaghtey

  • Ma Graigh Nagh Nare Doin Farraghten

  • Hunt the Wren

  • Tapsagyn Jeargey

  • Wandescope