taking our culture forward

Manannan's Choice of the Year

Congratulations, Adrian Corkill RBV 2024.

November each year is the time to get your nominations together for the ‘Reih Bleeaney Vanannan’, the Isle of Man's most prestigious cultural award. Named after the seagod Manannan, this annual award is made to an individual or group who has made the greatest contribution to the Island’s culture. A small group of judges from various Manx cultural organisations gather together in December to make the decision, with the winner usually announced in January.

But who could you think of proposing? You may want to nominate someone who works to promote and support an aspect of Manx culture such as art, dance, folklore, language, literature, music, history, education or the environment, or a group or society. 

Nomination forms can be downloaded from this page or by emailing us – your nomination should assume that the reader knows nothing about the individual or group and should show how they have made an impact on the Island’s culture. Think about how they have changed things in their chosen field, what makes them stand out? If they have been active in one or more areas, or have achieved something remarkable this past year or over their lifetime, make sure you detail this – all aspects are considered by the judges.

The winner of the award receives a donation of £500 and is invited to name a Manx cultural cause which will receive an additional donation of £500 from Culture Vannin.

Recipients are also entitled to use the letters RBV after their name.

It was Mona Douglas who championed Manannan as the patron of Manx culture, developing the original ‘Mananan Trophy’ together with Stephen Quayle. Later reincarnated as the RBV, the trophy was designed by the late Eric Austwick, and consists of the figure of Manannan standing on a piece of Pooilvaaish marble. The trophy also features traces of quartz from South Barrule, one of Manannan's fortresses, and a brooch of Laxey silver presented by Mona Douglas. Although the trophy is only held for a year, each recipient of the RBV is awarded a medal designed by Jenny Kissack and reproduced by Celtic Gold.

The panel of assessors is appointed by Culture Vannin and represents Manx cultural organisations: Yn Cheshaght Ghailckagh, Yn Chruinnaght, the Isle of Man Arts Council, Culture Vannin and Manx National Heritage.