taking our culture forward

Who will be your choice for the RBV award for Manx culture?

Wed, 27 Oct 2021

Manx Folk Dance Society RBV for 2012
Manx Folk Dance Society RBV for 2012

Throughout November you have the chance to think about who you would like to nominate for the Isle of Man’s top cultural award, the ‘Reih Bleeaney Vanannan’. Think about someone or a group that has made the greatest contribution to the Island’s culture, who has made a difference. Last year, architectural historian, Peter Kelly, was chosen for his lifelong work for Manx culture. Now it’s time for you to help decide who will win the 2022 award. The process couldn’t be easier – there’s a simple form to fill in, but the main thing to do is to write about why an individual or a group should receive the honour.

Previous winners include John Kaneen (music, collecting, and broadcasting), Phil Kelly (Manx language), the Michael Players (dialect theatre), William Cain (wildlife and environment), Clare Kilgallon (music, song and dance), the Bunscoill Ghaelgagh (language and culture), Allan Skillan (field-walking and prehistory), and Maureen Costain Richards (Manx artistic heritage, particularly Manx crosses); the award embraces diverse aspects of Manx culture.

The award recognises Manannan as patron of Manx culture, and comprises a trophy designed by Eric Austwick, a medal designed by Jenny Kissack, together with donations to the recipient and to a Manx cultural cause of their choosing. Nominations from the public are reviewed by a small group of judges from various Manx cultural organisations, with the winner usually announced in January.

Nomination forms are available online here or by emailing us – your nomination should assume that the reader knows nothing about the individual or group and should show how they have made an impact on the Island’s culture. If they have been active in one or more areas, or have achieved something remarkable in the past year or over their lifetime, make sure you detail this – all aspects are considered by the judges.

Nominations close at 12 noon on Tuesday 30 November 2021.